I just received a bogus Apple App Store order confirmation email containing an Order Status link that points to (a presumably compromised) guitar store web site. I can only assume that clicking on the link will take me to a faked form where the low-life scammer will try to steal credit card or other information. Here is what the message looked like:
This is a fake! When I hover the mouse cursor over the Order Status link for a few seconds I see that it points to a web site named best-guitar.net rather than Apple, which is a pretty big hint that’s it’s not legitimate. I’ve never received a notification from Apple’s App Store that looks like this so that raised alarm bells as well.
Be aware that this and similar scams are making the rounds.
Comments & Trackbacks
-
Thanks for the info Dave. Always need to remain in guard about these scams.
-
Thanks for the warning, Dave. It’s good for everyone to remember genuine receipts for any apps downloaded whether free or purchased are e-mailed from the iTunes Store.
-
Hi I own this site can you send me the actual link. I do sell guitars legitimately. as I think I have been hacked and some one is using my domain to steal cc info.

